NOTE: Our business offices are currently closed. The park remains open daily 9am-5pm. More info here. For the latest updates regarding COVID-19, click here.

Scratch Space:


Raqs Media Collective on the Yokohama Triennale

Thursday, September 24, 2020, 12PM - 1PM

VENUE: Online

Raqs Media Collective
Portrait of Raqs by Kato Hajime. Courtesy of the Yokohama Triennale

Stay connected: Enter your email address to begin receiving Montalvo's weekly e-newsletters!


Delhi-based artistic trio Raqs Media Collective discuss their vision for the Yokohama Triennale, one of the first major art events to take place after a flood of cancellations due to the Covid-19 pandemic. We’ll examine how art can be a form of renewal; the importance of ‘luminous care;’ the challenges of installing and opening an exhibition virtually; and how Raqs’ practice and this moment point to new ways of approaching creation, culture, sociality, and publicness.

Hosted by: Donna Conwell, Curator, Lucas Artists Residency Program and Kelly Sicat, Director, Lucas Artists Residency Program.


(Click to expand bio.)


Raqs Media Collective was formed in 1992, by Monica Narula, Jeebesh Bagchi and Shuddhabrata Sengupta. The word “raqs” in several languages denotes an intensification of awareness and presence attained by whirling, turning, being in a state of revolution. Raqs Media Collective take this sense to mean ‘kinetic contemplation’ and a restless and energetic entanglement with the world, and with time. Raqs practices across several media; making installation, sculpture, video, performance, text, lexica and curation. The members of Raqs Media Collective live and work in Delhi, India. In 2001, they co-founded the Sarai program at CSDS New Delhi and ran it for a decade, where they also edited the Sarai Reader series. In their role as Artistic Director, they are currently developing sources around toxicity, care, and luminosity of friendship with artists, and publics, for the ongoing Yokohama Triennale (2020). Raqs Media Collective were Lucas Artist Program Artist Fellows in 2005.