NOTE: Our business offices are currently closed. The park remains open daily 9am-5pm. More info here. For the latest updates regarding COVID-19, click here.

Scratch Space:

The DILATE Ensemble presents: "On Memory II: Scaling the Palace"

Thursday, November 12, 2020, 12PM - 1PM

VENUE: Online

Dilate Ensemble
Memory/Action: Kristin Musgnug

Stay connected: Enter your email address to begin receiving Montalvo's weekly e-newsletters!


Join us for a live streamed audio visual performance. At the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, visual artist Carole Kim began developing a new intimate venue for her work under the kitchen table. This space became a site for micro video installations animated by experimental musicians and performers who create improvised soundscapes from afar. The performance will be followed by a discussion about the importance of creating shared imaginative and collaborative spaces, how memories can interweave within a collective dreamspace, and what we will remember about living through 2020.



Dilate Ensemble is an audio visual collective featuring:

  • Carole Kim: micro video installation
  • Gloria Damijan: extended toy pianos, percussion
  • Scott L. Miller: electronics
  • Luisa Muhr: vocals
  • Jon Raskin: sax, concertina, electronics, recycled materials
  • Special Guest: Paul Chavez: guitar, electronics


Carole Kim is a media artist with a focus on video projection for multimedia installation, performance and photography. She has a very hands-on, tactile approach to the materials she works with, pushing the moving image to take on optical, spatial and dimensional form. Her work has been presented in a wide range of contexts including experimental music, theater, art, dance and site-specific installation. She is grateful for an ever-expanding community of collaborators across disciplines energized by a process of exploration in the moment.

Gloria Damijan studied piano and music pedagogy at Music University Vienna with a focus on contemporary music and free improvisation. She has studied with Manon-Lìu Winter, Burkhard Stangl, Franz Hautzinger and Ian Pace and collaborated with Stefan Fraunberger, Vinzenz Schwab, Klaus Filip, Arnold 'Noid' Haberl, Christine Schörkhuber and Ye Hui. Working together with composers Tamara Friebel, Margareta Ferek-Petric, Veronika Mayer,Matthias Kranebitter. Damijan has performed in Vienna, Graz, Innsbruck, Berlin, Barcelona, Lisboa, Porto, Oslo, Hamburg and is a member of the Viennese Improvisers-Network snim.

Minnesota composer and electronic musician Scott L. Miller is described as a creator of ‘high adventure avant garde music of the best sort’ (Classical-Modern Music Review). Best known for his electroacoustic chamber music and ecosystemic performance pieces, his music is characterized by collaborative approaches to composition, exploring performer/computer improvisation, and re-imagining ancient compositional processes through the lens of 21st century technology. He is a Professor of Music at St. Cloud State University and Director of Recordings for the Society of Electro-Acoustic Music in the U.S. (SEAMUS).

Luisa Muhr is a multi-lingual, multi- and interdisciplinary performer, improviser, director, installation artist, sound artist, and theater maker, and is at home in the experimental/avant-garde. As a performer she specializes in performance, vocal, movement, installation, sound, and theater arts. Among her many projects and commissions, she is currently developing an opera with six-time Grammy winner Arturo O’Farrill, and has been commissioned by the Austrian Cultural Forum New York and Roulette Intermedium to create two new interdisciplinary installation pieces. Originally from Vienna, Muhr lives and works in New York.

Jon Raskin has been a member of Rova Saxophone Quartet for the last 43 years exploring the relationship between improvisation and composition, developing and honing the language of ensemble music, and researching linguistic possibilities of the saxophone. Raskin has performed and/ or recorded with Anthony Braxton, Fred Frith, Sam Rivers, Tim Berne, Phillip Johnston, Leo Smith, Frank Gratkowsi, Phillip Greenlief and Henry Kaiser.

Paul Chavez is a composer, instrumentalist and sound designer whose sonic explorations reflect his background in architecture and engineering. His music and sound designs have been heard at the Los Angeles Music Center, the New York Guggenheim Museum, the Architecture and Design Museum, the Milan Triennale, the Los Angeles Design Festival, Regen Projects, New York Live Arts, the Grec Festival in Barcelona, REDCAT, and Dublin’s Project Arts Centre. He has created sound scores in collaboration with many artists, including Oguri, Roxanne Steinberg, Architecture Office, Carole Kim, The Edge, Sarah Elgart, Nels Cline, Morleigh Steinberg, and Melinda Ring.