Residency Dates
  • January 2018 – January 2018
  • January 2017 – January 2017
  • January 2017 – January 2017
  • May 2018 – July 2018

New York-based composer Nina C. Young’s music has garnered international acclaim through performances by the American Composers Orchestra, Inscape, Milwaukee Symphony, Minnesota Symphony, Orkest de ereprijs, Phoenix Symphony, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Argento, Divertimento, Either/Or, JACK Quartet, Metropolis, Scharoun, Sixtrum, SurPlus, wild Up, and Yarn/Wire.

Winner of the 2015-16 Rome Prize in Musical Composition, Nina has received a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Civitella Ranieri Fellowship, Koussevitzky Commission from the Library of Congress, the Salvatore Martirano Memorial Award, the Jacob Druckman Prize, and honors from BMI, IAWM, and ASCAP/SEAMUS.

A graduate of McGill and MIT, Nina completed her DMA at Columbia University where she was an active participant at the Columbia Computer Music Center. Young serves as Assistant Professor in the Department of Arts at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), as Co-Artistic Director of Ensemble Échappé, as a Visiting Composer at the Peabody Institute, and as a visiting artist at Arts Letters & Numbers. This fall she will begin as Assistant Professor of Music Composition and Director of the Electronic Music Studios at the the Butler School of Music at UT Austin. Her music is published by Peermusic Classical.